Happy Hogmanay!

hogmanay

You can have New Year – or New Years as the Americans call it.  I’m a Scot and today – Hogmanay – belongs to us.

2012 could have been worse – but not much so I’m looking to the new year with a healthy dose of optimism tinged with my usual cynicism.  A curious mix, to be sure, but it’s stood me in good stead up till now.

So, it only remains for me to say:

Here’s tae us,
Wha’s like us?
Gie few,
An’ they’re a’ deid.

Hope 2013’s as good for you as you can dream or imagine.  To expound on Oscar Wilde from the title of this blog:  “We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.”  Not a bad sentiment, that and one I like to adhere to – when I can ignore my inner cynic, that is…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Leave a comment